Needs updating and Trumba calendar

Introduction to Forest Biology – PLS 230 CRN 73732

Fall 2015
Lead Instructors: David Neale
More information, contact David Neale (dbneale@ucdavis.edu)

Time and Locations:
Lecture: 10:30 AM to 11:50 AM, Tuesday and Thursday, in Wellman Hall 00123
Seminar: 4:10 PM to 5:00 PM in Plant and Environmental Sciences Building 03001

Course Description:
Forest Biology is a cross-disciplinary topic that borrows from many of the core biological sciences. To be a forest biologist requires a familiarity with topics ranging from population genetics to ecosystem science. Our intent is to cover a broad range of forest biology topics, covering fundamentals of forest biology, but also critically examining what should be covered in a graduate forest biology course. We are seeking to engage interested students and faculty to come together to think about 21st century forest biology to create a core graduate curriculum that can be taught by 2-4 faculty, with occasional guest lectures to cover the essentials of forest biology.

Calendar for PLS 230:
Calendar ID: ucdavis.edu_80rjg43t8s7n2sdsvurco4p98g@group.calendar.google.com

Lecture Schedule:

Physiology
Thursday, September 24, 2015 Intro & review key physiological background Maciej Zwieniecki
Tuesday, September 29, 2015 Freezing injury and resistance in trees Maciej Zwieniecki
Thursday, October 1, 2015 Physical & biological limits to tree height Maciej Zwieniecki
Tuesday, October 6, 2015 Causes of tree mortality by drought Maciej Zwieniecki
Genetics
Thursday, October 8, 2015 Molecular Transmission and Population Genetics David Neale
Tuesday, October 13, 2015 Landscape Genomics David Neale
Thursday, October 15, 2015 Quantitative Genetics and Genomics David Neale
Tuesday, October 20, 2015 Tree Breeding David Neale
Pathology / Entomology
Thursday, October 22, 2015 Intro to Forest Pathology and Entomology Steven Seybold
Tuesday, October 27, 2015 Forest Diseases Steven Seybold
Thursday, October 29, 2015 Forest Insects Steven Seybold
Tuesday, November 3, 2015 Interactions / Forest Diseases and Insects Steven Seybold
Ecology
Thursday, November 5, 2015 Community Ecology / Succession Mark Schwartz
Tuesday, November 10, 2015 Fire Ecology / Disturbance Mark Schwartz
Thursday, November 12, 2015 Forest Biogeography Mark Schwartz
Tuesday, November 17, 2015 Ecosystem Ecology Mark Schwartz
Silviculture
Thursday, November 19, 2015 Principles and Concepts Malcolm North
Thursday, November 24, 2015 Stand Dynamics Malcolm North
Tuesday, December 1, 2015 Forest Management Malcolm North
Thursday, December 3, 2015 “New Forestry” Malcolm North