Skip directly to: Main page content

Forest Biology Research Center

Genetics Members


Alison M. Berry
Department: Plant Sciences
E-mail: amberry@ucdavis.edu
Phone: 5307527683
Research: -Biology and ecology of nitrogen-fixing woody plants. -Genomics and molecular biology of tree rhizosphere microorganisms. -Tree root systems: architecture and impacts on human infrastructure. -Patterns of tree failure in landscape trees.
Arnaldo Ferreira
Department: USDA Forest Service
E-mail: arferreira@fs.fed.us
Phone: (530) 642-5030
Andrew Groover
Department: Institute of Forest Genetics
E-mail: agroover@fs.fed.us
Phone: 530-759-1738
Web Site: Click Here
Research: My lab uses molecular genetic and genomic tools to understand the biological processes regulating secondary growth and wood formation. We use the model genus, Populus, for most of our research.
Andrew Latimer
Department: Plant Sciences
E-mail: amlatimer@ucdavis.edu
Phone: 530-752-0896
Web Site: Click Here
F. Thomas Ledig
Department: Plant SCiences
E-mail: tledig@scrserv.com
Phone: (707) 648-3402
Web Site: Click Here
Research: My research is primarily in conservation genetics and evolutionary biology, specifically, (1) the conservation genetics and mating systems of rare Mexican spruces and pinon pines and (2) the recent evolutionary history and biogeography of Californian conifers. A line of research that is of secondary interest is provenance and progeny testing of eucalypt species for renewable biomass energy crops on abandoned agricultural land in California.
David B. Neale
Department: Plant Sciences
E-mail: dbneale@ucdavis.edu
Phone: 530-752-8413
Web Site: Click Here
Research: Genomics of complex traits, marker breeding and molecular basis of adaptation.
Jessica W. Wright
Department: USDA- Forest Service, Pacific Southwest Research Station
E-mail: jessicawwright@fs.fed.us
Phone: 530-759-1742
Web Site: Click Here
Research: I am a Conservation Geneticist focusing on ecological genetic issues. My research examines all aspects of provenance trials- from tree height to transcriptomics.